Ben Harper – Fight For Your Mind (1995/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Ben Harper – Fight For Your Mind (1995/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:08:59 minutes | 2,7 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PonoMusic | © Virgin Records
Recorded: Grandmaster Recorders, Mad Dog Studios, Explosive Studio 12

Fight for Your Mind is an album by Ben Harper. Released in August 1995, it was his last solo album before adding the Innocent Criminals to his line-up. Reviews were generally very positive, praising Harper’s fusion of multiple genres, from folk (“Another Lonely Day”), folk rock (“Gold to Me”), Black Sabbath-style riffing heavy metal (“Ground on Down”) and politically charged reggae (“Excuse Me Mr.”).

After Harper’s well-received debut, Welcome to the Cruel World, he expanded on his fanbase by touring relentlessly with jam bands like Dave Matthews Band. On this, his second album, Harper added a more refined sense of his own intense spirituality, such as on the gospel-influenced album closers, “Power of the Gospel”, “God Fearing Man” and “One Road to Freedom”.

Fight for Your Mind fully embraces Ben Harper’s influences (Dylan, Marley, Havens, and Hendrix) into a complete sound while simultaneously broadening his thematic and musical palette. Oliver Charles’ tactile drumming and Leon Mobley’s percussion work give a sparkle to Harper’s music that was absent on his debut. Songs like “Gold to Me” and “Excuse Me Mr.” show Harper growing as a poet, approaching ideas via more subtle avenues. The single “Ground on Down” and epic jam “God Fearing Man” capture some of the explosive energy of his live performances. The latter makes allusions to “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” and that’s exactly what Harper does — allows his trademark Weissenborn guitar to scream out to his audience. The only misstep on this album is his sophomoric weed anthem “Burn One Down,” but one might argue that a little tarnish adds character. –AllMusic Review by Ryan Randall Goble

1 Opression 2:58
2 Ground On Down 4:52
3 Another Lovely Day 3:43
4 Please Me Like You Want To 4:56
5 Gold To Me 4:59
6 Burn One Down 3:31
7 Excuse Me Mr. 5:24
8 People Lead 4:14
9 Fight For Your Mind 4:06
10 Give A Man A Home 3:35
11 By My Side 3:33
12 Power Of The Gospel 6:01
13 God Fearing Man 11:48
14 One Road To Freedom 4:17

Ben Harper – acoustic guitar, Vocals, weissenborn
Brett Banduci – viola
Danielle Charles – violin
Oliver Charles – drums
Bob “Stiv” Coke – tabla, tambourine, tamboura, sarod
Timothy Loo – cello
Leon Mobley – percussion
Juan Nelson – bass
Ervin Pope – organ, Hammond organ