Eddie ‘Lockjaw Davis’ – The Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis Cookbook Vol. 1 (1958/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Eddie ‘Lockjaw Davis’ – The Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis Cookbook Vol. 1 (1958/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 47:55 minutes | 562 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital booklet | © Prestige Records

Since the Swing Era, when Harlem was a real hotbed of jazz, there has been present a certain kind of music, a type of popular jazz compounded from the large swing bands, the “jump” bands, and the fly, little combos which formed the best of what later became known as rhythm and blues. The best of rhythm and blues, however, has always been within the mainstream of jazz and is a happy, swinging, bluesy kind of music which contains both humor and warmth. Eddie Davis’ group was among those who revolutioned the idea of unconventional jazz instrumental combos.

Jazz tenor saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis’ album featuring organist Shirley Scott and flautist Jerome Richardson. The Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Cookbook was originally recorded in 1958 and later added on two subsequent volumes. Davis was known for developing the organ/tenor format, recording with Scott on numerous occasions and creating a unique musical blend between the two instruments.

Recorded June 20th, 1958 at Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, New Jersey

1. Have Horn, Will Blow 05:16
2. The Chef 06:01
3. But Beautiful 07:43
4. In The Kitchen 12:52
5. Three Deuces 05:01
6. But Beautiful (alternate take) 07:30
7. Avalon 03:32

Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis, tenor saxophone
Shirley Scott, organ
Jerome Richardson, flute, tenor saxophone (#5)
George Duvivier, bass
Arthur Edgehill – drums