Edvard Grieg – Complete Symphonic Works Vol.5 – Camilla Tilling, Tom Erik Lie, WDR Sinfonieorchester Koln, Eivind Aadland (2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Edvard Grieg – Complete Symphonic Works Vol.5 – Camilla Tilling, Tom Erik Lie, WDR Sinfonieorchester Koln, Eivind Aadland (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:06:24 minutes | 599 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: audite.de | Artwork: Front cover | © Audite Musikproduktion

Soprano Camilla Tilling plays a leading part in the fifth and final volume of audite’s complete
recording of Edvard Grieg’s orchestral works: although Grieg drew on his own songs with
orchestra or piano for the Six Orchestral Songs, this set forms an independent, elegiacally-hued
cycle reflecting the core of Grieg’s personality. It includes not only two songs from the incidental
music to Peer Gynt (Solveig’s Song and Solveig’s Lullaby) but also transcriptions of solemn piano
songs such as the Roman ballad From Monte Pincio, or the memory of the short-lived Norwegian patriot Henrik Wergeland, to whom the final song (sung by Tom Erik Lie) is dedicated. This recording gathers several important examples of the less familiar Edvard Grieg as composer of songs with orchestra.

As an orchestral composer, Edvard Grieg is known primarily for his piano concerto, his dances and atmospheric pictures based on Nordic mythology or folk music. Eivind Aadland and the WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln have recorded several pieces from this realm – including two numbers from the incidental music to Henrik Ibsen’s drama Peer Gynt, as well as the popular Norwegian Dances, Op. 35, which his contemporary Hans Sitt arranged for piano for four hands.

Cities such as Oslo and Bergen, where Grieg worked as a conductor, did not provide inspiration for his
compositions: in order to be able to write, he travelled to the countryside. He particularly loved the wild
region of Hardanger in West Norway, where he found the most original folk music and where he spent
several summers. Here, he composed not only his Norwegian Dances, but also the short orchestral ballad
Den Bergtekne (The Mountain Thrall), in which Grieg portrays himself as a restless poet, at odds with love.


Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Music to Henrik Ibsen‘s Peer Gynt, Op. 23 32:35
01 | At the Wedding (Act I, Prelude) 5:08
02 | Dance of the Mountain King’s Daughter (Act II, Scene 6) 1:52
Six Orchestral Songs 30:01
03 | Solveig’s Song, Op. 23 5:10
04 | Solveig’s Cradle Song, Op. 23 4:12
05 | From Monte Pincio, Op. 39 No. 1 5:12
06 | A Swan, Op. 25 No. 2 2:41
07 | Last Spring, Op. 33 No. 2 5:41
08 | Henrik Wergeland, Op. 58 No. 3 4:11
Two Lyric Pieces, Op. 68
09 | No. 4: Evening in the Mountains 3:52
10 | No. 5: At the Cradle 4:12
11 | The Mountain Thrall, Op. 32 6:04
Norwegian Dances, Op. 35
12 | I. Allegro marcato 6:35
13 | II. Allegretto tranquillo e grazioso 2:27
14 | III. Allegro moderato alla Marcia 3:14
15 | IV. Allegro molto 5:45


Camilla Tilling, soprano
Tom Erik Lie, baritone
WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln
Eivind Aadland, conductor