Julia Hulsmann Quartet – In Full View (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Julia Hülsmann Quartet – In Full View (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 70:39 minutes | 1,5 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Digital Booklet | © ECM Records GmbH

After two acclaimed trio albums pianist Julia Hulsmann proposes a different project for her third ECM release In Full View, motivated initially by a performance by Berlin-based, English trumpet player Tom Arthurs. After first rehearsals had established musical compatibility, Hulsmann called upon the services of her trusted rhythm section of Marc Muellbauer (double bass) and Heinrich Kobberling, but a vocalist was no longer needed. Thus the Julia Hulmann Trio became the Julia Hulsmann Quartet – with a prominent role for Tom Arthurs as strong new frontline voice that not only inspires Julia Hulsmann as player and arranger, but also had a stimulating effect on the composing activities within the quartet, with all members bringing compositions to the table. The program is rounded off by the additions of “The Water” from Canadian singer-songwriter Feist, “Richtung Osten,” penned by Heinrich Kobberling’s wife Fumi Udo, and Manuel de Falla’s “Nana” from the “Siete Canciones Populares Espanolas” cycle of folk song arrangements.

Pianist Julia Hülsmann’s 2013 album, In Full View, is her third for ECM and her first with her quartet. The German-born Hülsmann usually works in a trio setting, but with In Full View she has expanded her sound, collaborating with British trumpeter Tom Arthurs. These are ruminative, long-form pieces that bring to mind the sound of such similarly inclined artists as pianist Keith Jarrett and trumpeter Kenny Wheeler. Hülsmann has a languid, harmonically rich approach to playing the piano that is beautifully offset by Arthurs’ own investigative, somewhat plaintive improvisational style. Many of the tracks here, such as “Dunkel,” “Richtung Osten,” “Forgotten Poetry,” and the quartet’s fittingly brooding take on Leslie Feist’s “The Water,” mix classical and folk song-influenced melodies with expansive modal jazz forms that fit nicely into the ECM jazz tradition.

01 – Quicksilver
02 – Dunkel
03 – Gleim
04 – Forever Old
05 – Spiel
06 – Richtung Osten
07 – The Water
08 – Forgotten Poetry
09 – Dedication
10 – Snow, Melting
11 – Meander
12 – In Full View
13 – Nana

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineer: Jan Erik Kongshaug
Recorded at Rainbow Studio, Oslo, Norway (June 2012).

Julia Hülsmann – piano
Tom Arthurs – trumpet, flugelhorn
Marc Muellbauer – double bass
Heinrich Köbberling – drums