Whitesnake – Come An’ Get It (1981) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2010 # UIGY-9056] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Whitesnake – Come An’ Get It (1981) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2010 # UIGY-9056]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 40:29 minutes | Scans included | 1,63 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 830 MB

Features the 2010 DSD mastering based on Japanese original analog tape (subject to change). Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). DSD Transferred by Manabu Matsumura.

Despite the massive talents of vocalist David Coverdale and his supporting cast of musicians (not to mention the unimpeachable resumé of producer Martin Birch), Come an’ Get It was another maddeningly average Whitesnake album. A thoroughly boring set that played it too safe and yielded no lasting live favorites, Come an’ Get It was competent to the max — in the hands of a debuting artist, it may have qualified as a classic — but for a near-supergroup of such experience and pedigree, it instead smacked of severe underachievement. Rare highlights include the driving energy of “Hot Stuff,” the lively bar-room piano of “Wine, Women and Song,” and the wistful, acoustic balladry of “Till the Day I Die.” But these share space with run-of-the-mill bluesy rockers like “Don’t Break My Heart Again” and “Would I Lie to You” — all of them hard to fault, but equally impossible to praise. Yawn! Even the quasi-epic “Child of Babylon” fails to live up to initial promise, a half-hearted effort that easily defines the entire record’s abiding sense of indifference. No doubt a reflection of Coverdale’s own fluctuating interest in the group, Come an’ Get It’s confounding mediocrity would thankfully give way to the just as inexplicable brilliance of 1982’s Saints & Sinners and 1984’s Slide It In — a two-towered climax of Whitesnake’s career that displayed a newfound zest in urgency and inspiration.

01 – Come An’ Get It
02 – Hot Stuff
03 – Don’t Break My Heart Again
04 – Lonely Days, Lonely Nights
05 – Wine, Women An’ Song
06 – Child Of Babylon
07 – Would I Lie To You
08 – Girl
09 – Hit An’ Run
10 – Till The Day I Die

DSD Transferred from analogue master tapes by Manabu Matsumura (Universal Mastering Studios, Tokyo).